Bad Food Day

I published this on my Live Below the Line Blog about a month ago as a reflexion about how lucky I really am.

I had a bad food today yesterday. Somehow I managed to forget all of my packed food apart from a hot cross bun and my tea (I had packed my breakfast, lunch and snacks). Luckily I live in a city where great food is easily available (though it can be pricey) but ended up spending what is usually my fortnightly chai latte budget on one day’s worth of food. If I’d been doing live below the line (or living below the poverty line due to circumstance or birth) I would have gone hungry for a day. I wouldn’t have been able to have concentrated at work, my volunteer position or on the uni reading I did on my commute.

What I’ll miss most during the challenge are the senseless things that we don’t think about daily and just tap our cards for. However, when I realise that this is a luxury that many, many people could never dream of affording it humbles me and makes me even more driven to be able to see a world that is one day free of extreme poverty.
Leave a Reply

